TV Sports Theme Songs that Pump Us Up


Every one of our senses can elicit strong feelings of nostalgia by tapping into our most powerful memories. I can hear a song, smell a scent, or see a picture, and it will instantly snap me back to a specific time and place. I think this phenomenon is what makes the impact of sports theme songs so powerful. We associate these songs with the nervousness and excitement we have felt so many times when anticipating the start of an important game, and we even begin to have an emotional attachment to these songs.

So I ask you – which TV sports theme songs are the greatest ever, or to which songs do you have the most emotional attachment? I know my top 3, but I’ll leave it up to you to decide!

(I tried to embed the links in the poll so that you could click on them but Polldaddy hates me apparently, so I’ve included a table below of the links)

MLB on ESPN NFL on ESPN
MLB on Fox NFL on Fox
NBA on ESPN NFL on NBC
NBA on FSN NHL on ABC
NBA on NBC NHL on ESPN
NBA on TNT NHL on NBC
NFL on CBS NHL on Versus
Comments
4 Responses to “TV Sports Theme Songs that Pump Us Up”
  1. Nate says:

    NBA on NBC was THE best!

  2. Bill says:

    MLB on ESPN: excellent (arrangement is a bit stale)
    MLB on Fox: excellent (at least until the guitar comes in).
    NBA on ESPN: too much dead time; barely qualifies as a song or theme.
    NBA on FSN: excellent
    NBA on NBC: naw; needs more cowbell
    NBA on TNT: all Shaft, no craft, cowboy
    NFL on CBS: sounds like a Fox hunt
    NFL on ESPN: OK until James Bond comes in
    NFL on Fox: excellent from first note to last
    NHL on ABC: might work for a detective series soap opera
    NHL on ESPN: yawn
    NHL on NBC: starts more like a news theme, but then hits its stride
    NHL on Versus: you’re kidding, right?

    • I like the NFL on Fox too. As a whole, I think the NFL has the best themes. NHL definitely has the worst. I was waiting for someone to rip the Versus song. I don’t know what they were thinking with that horrible electric guitar riff!

Leave a Reply

